All rules for using rest areas in New Mexico are codified under the State’s Revised Statutes.
These are the only laws and/or regulations that exist with respect to rest areas in New Mexico. Laws presented below are word-for-word, the actual laws…
Chapter 67, Highways
Article 8, Miscellaneous Provisions
Section 67-8-22, Remaining in rest areas and similar facilities
A. No person shall remain, or willfully allow any property under his control to remain, in any publicly owned and controlled rest and recreation area or sanitary or tourist information facility, which area or facility is located immediately adjacent to a public highway and is intended for use by persons travelling the highway, for more than twenty-four hours in any three-day period, unless otherwise provided by law.
B. The state highway department shall provide for posting of all areas and facilities to which Subsection A of this section applies. The notice to be posted shall read:
Remaining in this area or facility for more than twenty-four hours is a violation of law subject to a fine of not more than one hundred dollars ($100).”
C. Any person violating any provision of Subsection A of this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine of not more than one hundred dollars ($100).